Dean Talbot Coburg Best And Fairest | PUNT ROAD END | Richmond Tigers Forum
  • IMPORTANT // Please look after your loved ones, yourself and be kind to others. If you are feeling that the world is too hard to handle there is always help - I implore you not to hesitate in contacting one of these wonderful organisations Lifeline and Beyond Blue ... and I'm sure reaching out to our PRE community we will find a way to help. T.

Dean Talbot Coburg Best And Fairest



From the Coburg Moreland Leader.
Award tops great year
by Kellie Cameron

COBURG Tigers defender Dean Talbot may have fallen short
of claiming the highest individual playing accolade in
the Victorian Football League, but he was the clear
frontrunner in the Tigers' best and fairest vote count.

Talbot, who finished a distant second in the JJ Liston
Trophy count, convincingly won Coburg's award in front
of Richmond rookies Kristian De Pasquale and Garth Taylor
last Friday night.

Talbot, 27, said he was honoured to receive the club
award, especially considering the calibre of current
Coburg players.

"It's a huge honour. There's a hell of a lot of good
players in the team, with some of them coming into the
side from Richmond. The guy who finished second (De
Pasquale) has actually won the award the last two years,"
he said.

But Talbot isn't as positive when it comes to his JJ
Liston Trophy placing.

"No one remebers who came second. I'm probably the only
one who's going to remember that. And the winner won by
that much that it doesn't really count. Although I guess
it's better to lose by that much than to lose by one
vote," he said.

The best and fairest tops off an outstanding year for
Talbot, who played every game and was chosen in the VFL
State Team.

"It's been the best season I've had in terms of what the
team has achieved," Talbot said.

"Personally, the year has been pretty good, I got to play
in the State team, and we beat South Australia. So, it's
probably also been the most rewarding year I've had
personally, for sure."

The former Geelong rookie, who joined Coburg from South
Australia in 2002, has picked up three other best and
fairest awards during his football career.

Talbot was twice named best and fairest while playing in
the South Australian Football League, and was also singled
out as East Perth's best player.


Other Best and fairest results for Coburg:
(snarfed from one of the local Coburg rags)

Best and fairest: Dean Talbot
2nd best and fairest: Kristian DePasquale
3rd best and fairest: Garth Taylor
Best finals player: Dean Talbot
Players' award: Paul Hudson
Best first year player: Eric Kuret
Most improved players: Chris Hyde, Nick Butler
Achievment award: Andrew Maggiore
Most courageous: Leigh Carlson

Best and fairest: David Biggs
2nd best and fairest: Cade Zun
3rd best and fairest: Liam Turner
Most courageous: Jarrod Lester